September 24, 2019

Matt O’Donnell Recognized for Outstanding Community Service

Eskimos offensive lineman Matthew O’Donnell is the 2019 recipient of the David Boone Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the community.

O’Donnell was presented the award at this evening’s Eskimos Annual Dinner, presented by Postmedia Solutions. The dinner, a 54-year tradition, raises funds to help make a positive and meaningful impact in the community though the Eskimos TELUS Champions in the Community program.

This year, O’Donnell spent 64 hours visiting schools, community groups and amateur football teams promoting health and wellness, literacy, and anti-bullying initiatives.

O’Donnell is also one of the team’s specially-trained TELUS Wise ambassadors who visit schools to share powerful messages of anti-bullying.

The David Boone Award was created in 2005 in memory of the legendary Eskimos defensive lineman, three-time West Division All-Star and CFL All-Star who spent countless hours helping the less fortunate. The honour is awarded annually to the Eskimo who best displays the characteristics on the field and in the community that Boone stood for.

Previous David Boone Award Winners
2005 – Jason Maas
2006 – Ed Hervey
2007 – Dan Comiskey
2008 – Patrick Kabongo
2009 – Patrick Kabongo
2010 – Graeme Bell
2011 – Aaron Fiaconni
2012 – Mathieu Bertrand
2013 – Grant Shaw
2014 – Calvin McCarty
2015 – Ryan King
2016 – Grant Shaw
2017 – Adarius Bowman
2018 – Ryan King